evangelists preached in Davie County in the years following the
establishment of the Moravian communities of Bethabara and Salem in the
mid - to late-1700's. However, no attempt was made to organize a
congregation in Davie County until 1854, when Reverend Francis
Florentine Hagen, pastor of Friedberg Moravian Church, was invited to
preach at Cope's School House. The invitation had come from several
Davie residents, notable among them Moravians John & Mary
Hagen, who composed the beloved Advent hymn, "Morning Star, O Cheering
Site," thought the invitation notably similar to the experience of St.
Paul, when in Acts 16 the record reports that "during the night "Paul
had a vision of a man of Macedonia standing and begging him, 'Come over
to Macedonia and help us.'" Hagen's text was John 1:19. At the close of
the service, which was held on September 16, 1854, five or six persons
responded to the invitation to receive Christ as Lord and Savior.
this first service, Mr. Hagen returned to Davie County on Wednesdays to
continue his preaching mission. The congregation grew and the believers
made plans to build a meeting place. Construction commenced in the
spring of 1855. The building was completed by Christmas. A log
building, it measured 24 by 30 feet, contained two galleries (one for
Negro slaves), and had two doors, one for use by females, and the other
for use by males, as was customary in many churches of the day.
construction was finished prior to the close of 1855, the dedication
service for the new sanctuary was set for May 24, 1856. It was a
two-day affair with intense preaching, glorious music, and fervent
prayers. Moravian leaders from Bethlehem and Salem attended, as did
many persons from the Davie County community. The charter members of
the church, fewer than twenty in number, included a Negro slave.
the ensuing years the church experienced the growing pains common to
any congregation of fervent believers. Questions about music, style of
worship, baptism, and other matters had to be addressed and answered,
as the young congregation sought to be faithful to the Moravian
traditions, while at the same time be sensitive to the needs and
concerns of the Davie County context.
first sanctuary was replaced by a larger, frame building in 1878. It,
in turn, yielded to a modern brick sanctuary with electric lights in
1928. The first parsonage was built in 1922, and replaced with the
present pastoral home in 1968. The present worship facility was built
in 1964. A Christian Education and fellowship facility was dedicated in
its earliest days, Macedonia embraced the revival spirit so prevalent
in this part of the country. Two-week evangelistic and revival
campaigns were not uncommon. Many people came to Christ and the
congregation was often renewed by means of theses services.
response to the rapidly changing culture of the late twentieth century,
and the substantial growth of the surrounding community, Macedonia has
under gone significant change in the past decade or two, Worship
reflects a contemporary flavor, youth ministry has become a high
priority, programming has become diversified, additional staff has been
employed, and facilities and equipment are continually updated.
the only Moravian congregation is Davie County, Macedonia holds a
unique place and bears witness to Jesus Christ in a special way.